July 1, 1960 – The new country of Somalia is formed through the union of newly independent territories British Somaliland and Italian Somaliland.
January 1991 – President Barre is forced into exile. Civil war ensures for the next two decades.
September 10, 2012 – Somali parliament members select Hassan Sheikh Mohamud as the new president, marking a milestone for the nation, which has not had a stable central government for 21 years.
January 17, 2013 – For the first time in more than two decades, the United States grants official recognition to the Somali government.
February 8, 2017 – Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, who resigned as prime minister in 2011, is elected president.
February 23, 2017 – President Mohamed names Hassan Ali Khaire prime minister.